WPR Hort Web

race fuelsrace lubricants

Jaafar wins at Silverstone after Lynn is penalised

 8th Sep 2012


Jaafar wins at Silverstone after Lynn is penalised

Alex Lynn suffered the highs and lows of motorsport at Silverstone today, winning his maiden Cooper Tires British Formula 3 International Series race only to lose the victory later in the stewards’ room.

Lynn was judged to have anticipated the start of the race, the pole position man creeping forward before the lights went out. Championship leader Jack Harvey was also found to have jumped the start and both men were docked 30 seconds.

Earlier in the day, Lynn had claimed his maiden British F3 pole position, and the reigning Formula Renault UK Champion made the most of the opportunity to lead title fighter Jazeman Jaafar off the line and into Copse corner. By the end of the opening lap Lynn held a 1.4s lead over his Malaysian opponent, and that was as close as Jaafar would get.

“My pace was really good,” said Alex on the podium. “It feels good finally to win my first race but also a bit weird because I’ve run it through in my head so many times. When you finally do it, it seems a bit of an anti-climax.” Alas the real anti-climax came several hours later with his penalty, which dropped him to fourth place overall.

Jaafar, who had trailed Lynn for the duration and crossed the line 10 seconds adrift, was thus promoted to victory, doing his championship hopes no harm at all.

The battle for third on the road was a thriller, with Carlos Sainz fighting for the duration with Harvey, who lost the spot to his Spanish team-mate on the opening lap. They duelled on almost every lap, with championship leader Harvey gaining the upper hand only at the final corner.

“We were fighting the whole race,” said Jack. “On the final lap I dived to the inside into Brooklands and managed to get a good exit; he went quite high and slowish into Luffield and I just managed to drive around the outside of him.” Harvey’s penalty dropped him to eighth, with Sainz gaining second and Harry Tincknell promoted to third.

With the other main championship protagonist, Fortec’s Felix Serralles, in strife also after a startline stall, the net result is a very close battle at the top of the standings, with Harvey now nursing a three-point lead over Jaafar and Serralles.

After the reshuffle, Pietro Fantin was fifth, with Rupert Svendsen-Cook sixth on his return to the championship with the Double R team, ahead of Serralles and Harvey. Pipo Derani was ninth after serving a drive-through penalty - his pit crew were deemed to have lingered too long on the grid before the off. Some compensation for Pipo was that his number was pulled from the hat on the podium and he will start tomorrow’s reverse-grid sprint race from pole position.

Hannes van Asseldonk retired from fifth early on with engine dramas, with Geoff Uhrhane (Double R) and Nick McBride (T-Sport) tangling on the final lap while disputing eighth.
T-Sport’s Spike Goddard enjoyed a trouble-free run to National class victory, leading home his team-mate Pedro Pablo Calbimonte. “I just got off the line well and kept looking forward,” said the Australian.

Cooper Tires British Formula 3 International Series
Round 24, Silverstone Grand Prix 8/9/2012
15 laps / 54.91 miles

Provisional amended results International class
1  Jazeman JAAFAR / MAS,  Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen  29m 02.367s / 113.44mph
2  Carlos SAINZ / ESP,  Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen  +7.900s
3  Harry TINCKNELL / GBR,  Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen  +16.379s
4  Alex LYNN / GBR,  Fortec Dallara-Mercedes  +19.441s inc pen
5  Pietro FANTIN / BRA,  Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen  +20.378s
6  Rupert SVENDSEN-COOK / GBR,  Double R Dallara-Mercedes  +20.907s
7  Felix SERRALLES / PUR,  Fortec Dallara-Mercedes  +23.436s
8  Jack HARVEY / GBR,  Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen  +37.843s inc pen
9  Pipo DERANI / BRA,  Fortec Dallara-Mercedes  +38.820s

National class
1  Spike GODDARD / AUS,  T-Sport Dallara-Mugen Honda  +42.984s
2  Pedro Pablo CALBIMONTE / BOL,  T-Sport Dallara-Mugen Honda  +45.070s
3  Duvashen PADAYACHEE / AUS,  Double R Dallara-Mugen Honda +49.322s

Did not finish
Geoff UHRHANE / AUS,  Double R Dallara-Mercedes  14 laps
Nick McBRIDE / AUS,  T-Sport Dallara-Nissan  14 laps
Hannes VAN ASSELDONK / NED,  Fortec Dallara-Mercedes  6 laps

Fastest lap Lynn 1m 55.098s / 114.48mph

Full timesheets http://bit.ly/OP0jFX

Provisional championship standings
1 Harvey 255 points; 2= Serralles & Jaafar 252; 4 Sainz 212; 5 Lynn 197; 6 Tincknell 181; 7 Fantin 153; 8 Derani 119; 9 van Asseldonk 99; 10 McBride 79 etc
National class 1 Goddard 352; 2 Padayachee 309; 3 Adderly Fong 161; 4 Calbimonte 70.

TV schedule 15 Sep, 0700 Channel 4 UK & 1325 Motors TV UK

Next rounds 9 Sep Silverstone

For more information about WP Motorsport, please contact us today.

racing fuel selector


Find out which Racing fuel is right for you

lube fuel selector


Find out which Racing fuel is right for you




01 MCE BSB TV (2) SuperOne logo Legends logo

Clio Cup


TRS LOGO (2) Thruxton Motorsport Centre Mobil-Service-Centre-Logo-TM Donington strapline positive cmyk


Copyright © 2019 Wessex Petroleum Limited, trading as WP Group

Site Map | Contact UsPrivacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

Join us on Facebook Connect with us on LinkedIn The WP Group
Powered By Intergage | www.intergage.co.uk